skip to content


The Department's buildings are currently open for wet laboratory work only. We have carried out a comprehensive COVID-19 risk assessment process and have introduced a number of new measures to ensure the safety of our staff, including reduced building occupancy, strict social distancing, 'family'-based working, and increased cleaning and hygiene regimes. All staff who can work remotely will do so for the foreseeable future. Please continue to contact us by email until further notice.

Department of Biochemistry

Nobel Prize medal

In this section of the history of the Department of Biochemistry we have assembled short biographies of Nobel laureates who are former members of our Department.


Nobel Prize medal featuring an embossed image of Alfred Nobel.

Credit: The Nobel Foundation.