skip to content


Department of Biochemistry

Department of Biochemistry news archive

Steve Jackson has won the 2016 Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine.


The prize is conferred by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Science and is awarded alongside prizes for Biochemistry and Biophysics, Environmental Sciences, Cognitive Science, History, and Art.

The Heineken Prizes, the most prestigious international research prizes in the Netherlands, are named after Dr Henry P. Heineken (1886-1971), Dr Alfred H. Heineken (1923-2002) and Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken (1954-). Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken is chair of the Dr H.P. Heineken Foundation and the Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation, which finance the prizes, and are awarded every other year. The prize winners are selected by juries made up from leading international researchers put together by the Academy.


Stephanie Low

Publication date

28 April 2016